Home > Uncategorized > My favorite books of 2015

My favorite books of 2015

My Top 10 books of 2015 (#s 2-10 are in no particular order)
1) War against all Puerto Ricans by Nelson Denis (provocative perspective on the complex relationship between the US and PR. Anyone who wants to understand and address the current economic woes of PR needs to read this book. My book of the year!

2) The Emotionally Healthy Leader by Pete Scazzero (Pete has been my most influential mentor in my time of following Christ. He writes from a place of experience and wisdom. Must read for all leaders.

3) Crossover preaching by Jared Alcantara (wonderful take on preaching in multiethnic settings using the great Gardner Taylor as a model. My favorite preaching book of 2015. 

4) Living gently in a violent world by Haweraus and Vanier (two very different men writing about gentleness. Incredible insights.

5) The imperfect pastor by Zack Eswine (every pastor should read this. Period)

6) Under the unpredictable plant by Eugene Peterson (Peterson has influenced my thinking and writing as much as anyone. This is my favorite Peterson book. Must read for leaders and pastors)

7) Redeeming sex by Deb Hirsch (An amazing treatment of the integration of sexuality and spirituality. I recently met Deb and was blown away by her insights and compassionate witness to Christ)

8) Black and Free by Tom Skinner (Tom Skinner preached what I believe to be one of the best sermons, if not the best, on racial justice. The book is basically his sermon in written form. Powerful powerful powerful. Here’s the link to the sermon he gave in 1970: https://youtu.be/bvKQx4ycTmA

9) Paul the Spirit and the people of God by Gordon Fee (my favorite book on the person and ministry of the Spirit. I met with Gordon a few months ago at his home and was inspired by his desire to see the Spirit move in our churches.

10) The Jesuit guide to almost everything by James Martin (I’m a huge fan of Fr. James Martin, SJ. I read everything he writes).

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

