Home > Uncategorized > Casting Vision

Casting Vision

Today, for about an hour, I had a phone conversation with my boss, and mentor, Pete Scazzero. As we get ready to being our 25th year as a church, this Sunday is one of our Vision Sundays. During this gathering, we will give a picture of where we are going in the coming years. It’s a very exciting day!

I asked Pete to coach me on how to communicate vision effectively. I’ve read my fair share of books on this, but I needed a fresh perspective. He’s been doing it for over 25 years, and our church has seen incredible fruit through his leadership. Here are 7 elements (among others) that stood out to me in our conversation. Afterwards, I realized how much I need to grow in my personal leadership. Having a mentor like him is priceless:

7 elements of vision casting (from Pete Scazzero)

1) Before vision is cast, I better know that God has given me something to say.

2) I need to believe what I’m saying deeply. It’s more than just a “good idea.”

3) Vision needs to stretch people

4) Vision need not answer all the details, but some details are helpful

5) Having VERY clear next steps for people after hearing vision is a non-negotiable

6) Casting vision is giving a picture of a preferable future (Ortberg).

7) Vision should be connected to, but also an expansion of what exists (for example, in our setting, we are getting clearer about the language we use to communicate expectations for our folks. We’ve used the oft-used words, Connect, Grow and Serve. For us, this is more than just words communicating our ideals, but words that help to form what we do today. How are people connecting in community? How are people growing in their personal formation? How are people serving, using their gifts and being generous? These questions form how we plan during the year.

This week, when we having our Vision Sunday, we will move people along the lines of connecting, growing and serving.

I’m excited that we get to share a picture of a preferable future this Sunday. I’m also excited to see our community respond with faith and imagination!

– Rich

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 15, 2012 at 10:05 am

    I was wondering the same question! This is so helpful, and I agree you’re very blessed to have a wise mentor πŸ™‚

  2. Shanella
    September 16, 2012 at 3:17 am

    good post!
    25 years and going, I hope you guys have a great Vision Sunday πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment