Home > Uncategorized > The importance of a DAWG. 

The importance of a DAWG. 

When I was in the interview process to join staff at New Life Fellowship over four years ago, I remember a conversation my wife and I had with Pete and Geri Scazzero. As we sat in the local diner, we spoke about all kinds of things. Midway through, we began to talk about the pastoral position. After discussing community life, small groups, preaching, as well as the demand that pastoral ministry can have on relationships, Pete said something to me that I’ll never forget.

He said, “Rich, the only way we’d fire you…”

Now, at this point, you can imagine that I sat up straight and my ears perked up.

“The only way we’d fire you, is if you didn’t take time to rest.”

At that point, I’m thinking, “ummmm, I don’t think he said that right.” I’ll get fired, if I don’t take time to rest. Since I began working as an 18 year old, the message has always been, “I’ll get fired if I don’t work hard.” That wasn’t the emphasis here, though.

Pete began to talk about how our doing for God must be grounded in our being with God. A life of prayer and rhythm is the only way to sustain the immense work and responsibility of pastoral ministry (and I imagine many other lines of work, too).

Since working at New Life, Sabbath-keeping and Daily Offices (pausing 2-3 times a day for silence and scripture) has been quite transformational. While I’m still learning and developing greater rhythm for the increasing leadership responsibilities I carry, I can’t imagine my life without rest and rhythm.

To create a culture of rest and rhythm, some years ago, Pete introduced a Day Alone with God (DAWG) for our pastoral staff. The third Wednesday of each month, pastors on staff head to the beach, coffee shops, libraries, parks, etc., to get alone, be with God, read scripture, rest and refocus. Every month, on the Tuesday before our DAWG, I typically send out DAWG guidelines to our staff. Might this be something you implement in your own leadership, whether you have paid staff or not? It’s something worth thinking about.

Here’s what I send:

Hey Team,

Just a reminder that we have DAWG tomorrow…

In order to make the most out of this day, here are some guidelines I encourage:

1. Solitude. Our hope is that we would get away to a quiet place to pay attention with God. On nice days, you might consider going to the park, the beach, or some outdoor place that gives you rest and delight. For colder days, you might want to go to the library, a museum, a retreat house, coffee shop, etc. (We discourage having days alone with God at your home).

2. Silence: Our desire is that we would cultivate a heart which is receptive to hearing from God. Periods of silence are encouraged towards this end.

3. Journaling: Writing makes a person more exact. Journaling is a helpful discipline to offer our prayers, thoughts, ponderings, etc. to God. This is also a great discipline to examine how God has been coming to you throughout the week, months, years, etc.

4. Scripture: A healthy reading of scripture is encouraged. This might include doing lectio divina, or simply reading (meditatively) through a book in the Bible.

5. Devotional book: Another option is to bring a book which focuses on the inner life of prayer, communion with God, etc. Books from authors like Henri Nouwen, Merton, Benner, Rohr, or whoever gives you life is encouraged.

6. Strategic Planning: It might be helpful to take the last part of your day (1-2 hours) to strategically think through and plan for the upcoming weeks and months. This is a great time to offer your tasks, calendar, etc. to God.

7. Finally, it’s important that this day doesn’t become a yoke for you. Our hope is that this intentional time spent with God replenishes you, and doesn’t simply become a checklist.

– Rich

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment